Thank God for IKEA

I have got a new piece of furniture for my room. It is apparently something that all the women in India has. I bought it yesterday, got it delivered today and tomorrow it will be put together. I say thanks for IKEA, where you buy it, take it home yourself and put it together yourself. So it will be ready and done when you want it to be.. 

Here, it takes me numerous of phonecalls to ask where the serviceguy is,  the one who has to put it together for me. I got one promise that he would be here today, 5ish. Now I have a promise that he will be here tomorrow morning 11ish. So lets see whenever he comes..

When these things happen (not that I buy furnitures so often) I really miss IKEA. Here in India you pay for anything, people dont seem to do things themselves. I remember when I lived with my old roommate, there was a bed in my room that needed to be sold. My roommate complained that she was waiting for some guy. I asked which guy, and she said, the guy who will dismantle the bed. I started laughing and wondered why she couldnt do it herself. It was like three screws! But like I said, you dont do these things yourself here. Why get your own hands dirty when it will only cost you a few rupees for someone else to dirty their hands for you. I doubt that the concept of IKEA would work here, where you get all the tools, screws and instructions to do it yourself.


Comment
Postat av: Ernst Kappa

Good one Sara!

2012-02-08 @ 19:47:26
URL: http://ernstkappa.wordpress.com
Postat av: Kathrine

hahaha true, but i really think IKEA would work here, still! I think that its so good quality to such good price, and if we know the indian people right they will just have the service that someone can come and put it together for you if u pay a little. dont u think it will work? :)

2012-02-09 @ 15:10:55
URL: http://visitgoa.se

Comment here:

Your goodname:
Remember me

Email: (will not be published)

URL/Blogaddress:

Your comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0